I was a Stranger

Matthew 25.png

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in. I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.(Matthew 25:35-36)

These are the words of our Lord Jesus Christ taken from the gospel of Matthew the New International Version. If you are asking yourself what does this all mean, please let me take this time to share. In my home church once a month we run a free London broil dinner for the community everyone is invited you only ask to bring your appetite and perhaps a friend, the local businesses support this which is paying for these dinners and members of the church does all the cooking. It is truly amazing to see so many people coming out to these dinners, from children to older adults. I have heard so many times this is the only time we are able to eat meat, otherwise they simply can’t afford it. These people in all walks of life are simply grateful for what we do each and every month and have now for more than two years. When I take the time to come out of the kitchen I am amazed how many people are here, just sitting down with a complete stranger and enjoying a meal together who normally won’t say hi if they saw each other on the streets. My church for over twenty years do a free clothing drive twice a year, as well as a baby blessing pantry and we get as many people involved as possible. We are the hands and feet of Christ here on earth, and we are called to help one another whenever possible, Christ is counting on us to do so. Have you ever heard the saying it is better to give than received. Well it is so true, when you give of yourself with no strings attach you get so much more in return. The friendship that is built is wonderful. When you give yourself in these ways you don’t dwell on your own problems, you simply want to serve, and by serving others we are serving Christ. The best pay to received is a smile, a hug, and a big thank you. So I am asking you today where are you being the hands and feet for Christ, where is their a need that you can fill.

The Lord will reply truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you do for me.                  (Matthew 25:40)

 

4 thoughts on “I was a Stranger

Leave a Reply

