COME AND FOLLOW

untitled.png

Most of  Jesus’ disciples were fisherman, which was very common, that is how many made their living. During a time the disciples were in a boat without Jesus. Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. It’s a ghost they said and cried out in fear. But Jesus immediately said to them “Take courage, it is I, Don’t be afraid, and then Peter replied to him. Lord, if it’s you tell me come to you on the water, “Come Jesus tells him.                                              (Matthew 14:25:29) (NIV)

Can you even try to imagine seeing Jesus walking on the water, and telling you or me to come to him. As Christians Jesus is asking us to “Come” and follow. Come into deeper water as you journey as a Christian. This is never easy for us to step out in faith, out of our comfort zone to go deeper, because too many times we as humans live in fear of the unknown. However we need to Trust Jesus with our entire life,  and not just a small part of it. One can say that once we get comfortable with our lives, we don’t want to change in any way.  Can you really honestly say to Jesus, yes Lord I am truly ready to follow you and leave my old self behind to follow you, to go into deeper waters with him. I am ready to say that and I have been willing. Does that say that I am not afraid, no not by any means does it tell anyone that I am not afraid. However knowing Jesus as my own personal Savior, I know I can trust him, truly trust with all of my heart. Why you may ask, for me when I became a disciples of Jesus over time by heart longs to know him and have a deeper relationship with him. For me to go deeper in the understanding and the knowledge of how he wants me to serve him and others. One way for me to go deeper is to spend more time with him, quiet time, pray time, and scripture time to know this Jesus who died on the cross, sacrificed  his life for me, what love he has for me. From the book of Psalm chapter 42:1-2  I read and share with you, As the deep pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God, My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. We are all created in the image of God almighty and we are never happy, until we come to understand who he is, and why on earth are we here for. So as we journey into deeper waters with our Lord and Savior we come to know the One True God.

Can you image the day when we all stand face to face with Jesus, would I just stand in his presence in all of his glory, and would I want to dance for joy, and just sing and worship him in spirit and truth. You know we can do that here on earth, worship him as we should in spirit, because God is spirit.  So lets all step out in faith, go into deeper waters with Jesus, never look back just trust him all the way.

Leave a Reply

