My soul longs for God

untitledl.pngAs the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you my God, My soul thirsts for God the living God, when can I go and meet with God. (Psalm 42:1-2)

Wonderful words from King David from the Old Testament, how my soul longs to understand life itself. As I sit and write these words I try to understand the trials I too face on a daily basis. I long for peace within my soul, the kind of peace that our world can not give us, because that peace doesn’t last for very long. We as humans seem to think if I only have more money, better job, a bigger house, fancy car, expensive vacation, I will be happier, and better yet what about when I win the lottery. Yet we need to realize that we are created by God in his image, and until we come to know God really know him we can never truly be happy. In the gospel of John chapter 14:27 the words of Jesus to his disciples is this, Peace I leave with you my peace I give to you, I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be trouble and do not be afraid. Some of you maybe saying to yourself, well that is easy for you to say, my answer not really. When I feel as thro the walls are crashing in on me, I reach out to a Christian brother or sister and ask for prayer. Spend time just talking, and for me when I feel this way I begin to search scriptures to give my soul some comfort. As I read these words from King David I cry out to God where are you my God, I don’t feel you close to me and I simply don’t understand why I don’t. Tell me why Lord I must walk this road, and yes Lord there are many times, too many times I feel as thro I walk alone. Then a scripture comes to my mind, my heart, from Hebrews 13: 5 Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you. This is why to me I need to read scriptures, meditate on the words I just read, and over time I come to realize that I memorize it.  Life for any of us is never easy, Jesus never promise it would be easy for any of us, he tells us once we accept him as our own personal Savior he will walk with us.

The words from King David in the book of Psalm reminds me each and everyday, how I long to go deeper, deeper with knowing the one true God. So as my day is coming to a close I just think of these words, and remind myself, God is even closer than I can ever image, closer then the air I breathe, and these thoughts gives my soul much comfort.

 

Leave a Reply

