Jesus Praying in Gethsemane

Jesus Praying.pngAs we continue with the Gospel of Matthew 26:36-46, Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, ” Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubles. Then he said to them, ” My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayer. ” My Father if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as your will. Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour?”, he asked Peter. Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.” The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” He went away a second time and prayed, ” My Father, it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done. When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing. The he returned to the disciples and said to them, ” Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour has come, and the Son of Man is delivered into the hands of sinners. Rise! Let us go! Here comes my betrayer.
According to all four Gospels, immediately after the Last Supper, Jesus took a walk to pray. Each Gospel offers a slightly a different  account with regards to narrative details. Matthew and Mark identify this place of prayer as Gethsemane. Jesus was accompanied by the Apostles, Peter, John and James, whom he asked to stay away and pray. In the Gospel of John, Jesus prays to Be Glorified, (John 17:1) “Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you. Jesus then prays for his disciples.(John 17:6) “I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours, you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word. Jesus also prays for all Believers ( John 17:20) My prayer is not for them alone, I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one.  An angel then came from heaven to strengthen him. During his agony as he prayed, his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down upon the ground.  (Luke 22:44)

Even thro the disciples had no idea what was about to happen to their friend, their teacher, the Master, but Jesus did, all the pain he would suffer for the sins of the world then and even now. What great Love He has for You and Me.

The night is no where over for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

