I AM THE TRUE VINE

I AM THE TRUE VINE.png“I AM the true vine, and my father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bears fruit he prunes, so that it will be even more fruitful.  You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself, it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”          (John 15:1-4 NIV)

God made us to be amazing people who learn and explore and create and give and delight and love. He made us full of potential and purpose. He made us to produce fruit. Good fruit that brings glory to God, our vinedresser. He made us to freely give grace, realizing need it ourselves. He made us to add goodness, see the beautiful, and rest in the assurance of His lavish love for us. Never ever for one second did God look at us and say, “My goal for this one is to simply be good enough.” Without Jesus we are selfish, self-focused, and all about our fruit bringing glory to ourselves. We work and strive and exhaust ourselves all for a pursuit that leaves us with hallowed out feeling that there’s more to life than chasing what we want, hoping to feel good enough. In essence, what Jesus is saying in this I AM passage is—–I am doing what you could not do. I am the true Vine. Israel, you were supposed to be the vine, but you couldn’t do it. So, I AM is coming and saying that He is about to step in and fulfill what you could not do. We are in that same boat, my friends. We cannot do what God has called us to do without Him. We are unable to be faithful to His commands. We have failed over and over just like the Israelites failed time and time again. The Jewish people hearing Jesus that day needed Him so step in as the true Vine. And we need Him to do that for us as well.

The last few post here in this site has been to Finding I AM, the book by Lysa TerKeurst and it was a awesome book to read, I would suggest for you to read it yourself. Finding Jesus we come to find out that He is the Great I AM, and apart from him going thru the day to day difficulty of life is never and I mean never easy for an human being. Take your time in discovering who Jesus who, and is, and is to coming, He is THE GREAT I AM, and believe me when you do accept Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior you will never regret doing it, and he will give you the peace that this world is unable to do.

 

GRACE AND PEACE TO YOU MY FRIENDS.

Leave a Reply

