A Closer Walk

Luke 10.jpg

 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:38-42 NIV.

During my time with the Lord today and reading these words from the Gospel of Luke I began thinking. What things in my life keeps me from a closer walk with my Lord, different words I thought of was being busy. Some days all it seems is that I am doing is running around in circles, I think I am getting things accomplish but in the truth of it all I am not. Another thing that keeps me from my Lord is worry, but I can get a gold star for that one, instead of bring all of my cares and worries to the Lord I tried to handle all of my problems totally on my own feeling helpless because for whatever the reason I was never truly was suppose to handle it all on my own. Another thing is fear, I fear that I will fail at whatever anyone would ask me to do, and more important I fear that somehow I will fail God and I never want to be a failure to God. The truth of all of this is that I can never be a failure to God, because God already knows I am not perfect but he does knows my heart and how much all things do matter and how much I do desire to please him.  The most important thing that I need to do is become Mary, learning to sit at the feet of Jesus and just spend time with him, even if that means all day with my Lord that is okay, because in the end of it all I will continue to have a closer walk with him. So friends what is keeping you from having a closer walk with Jesus today?

 

Grace and Peace to You My Friends

Leave a Reply

