Silence

Truly my soul finds rest in God’ my salvation comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress I will never be shaken. How long will you assault me? Would all of you throw me down, this leaning wall, this tottering fence? Surely they intend to topple me from my lofty place; they take delight in lies. With their mouths they bless, but in their hearts they curse. Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Psalm 62:1-5

If the radio were broken in your car, would you need to fix it immediately, or would you relish in silence? Perhaps you or someone you know keeps the TV on all day for the noise.

What is it about silence that makes so many of us uncomfortable? Some of us even talk to ourselves to avoid it. Our feelings about silence often connect directly to our feelings about being alone. The radio keeps us from realizing we are alone, or from leaving us alone with our thoughts. But alone with our thoughts is exactly where God most wants to speak to us.

How can we hear him if we’re partially tuned in to a song, show, or commercial? How can we listen if we never stop talking? Seek out silence today, and allow it to refresh your soul. Give your needs and your questions to God, and then wait for him to answer. What is God filling your heart with in this moment.

Grace and Peace to You My Friends

Eileen

Leave a comment